I’m so offended. No really.

I was discussing with my beautiful Buddhist friend how much I abhor offending people. I loath it, I really do. In response she said this:

“You need to say fuck off to not offending people. People need to be offended once in a while. Look, both of us seem to spend a good portion of our lives offended and pissed off because the people in charge or the majority are doing or allowing things that are just insane, upsetting, hateful etc. and WE’RE worried about offending people? Hells no, things need to be riled up my friend. That’s where change comes from.”

Girls got a damn fine point. I spend a disproportionate amount of my time livid about the status quo and the state of things and the lack of justice and discrimination and inequality and abuse and bla bla bla bla bla. And I am soooo fucking fed up of it. My ideas aren’t even offensive! They’re for WHOLENESS. That’s why my blog is so cheezily named for pete’s sake. Everyone is entitled to wholeness. That includes an absence of bullshit like injustice, discrimination, abuse, inequality, persecution, etc. Yes yes yes, I know it’s idealistic. That’s incorporated into the title of the blog too. I got stuff covered – trust.

But seriously. If I offend? Suck it up. This stuff needs to be addressed or I wouldn’t be mouthing off about it.

3 Comments

  1. Nekronaizzers said,

    April 4, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    This girl sounds smart 😉

  2. April 8, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    I think offense can be quite handy: it can lead one to examine what it is about a statement or idea that offends them, and what aspects of their personality lead them to be offended by such things. It can prompt discussion, debate, contemplation, and all sorts of other things, provided the offended party is receptive to that sort of self-examination.

    I think “offense” is different than “insult”, though; the latter, I think, is more meant to hurt someone, a deliberate choice of the attacker; offense, I think, is much more in the eye of the beholder, so to speak.

    So “Christianity is False” might be offensive to some, but I don’t see it as insulting in the way that “All Christians are Idiots” is (although some Christians might think that the latter is implicit in the former).

    • April 13, 2010 at 10:36 am

      When I was a Christian I definitely took it badly so I have empathy for those who do the same now that I am on the other side of the fence. I try to be sensitive to that kind of stuff. At the same time I have a LOT of rage about aspects of my abandoned faith and it’s going to offend and… well… suck it up lol.

      Thanks for commenting ^_^


Leave a Reply

